Read Sharpe's Company by Bernard Cornwell Free Online

Ebook Sharpe's Company by Bernard Cornwell read! Book Title: Sharpe's Company
The size of the: 571 KB
Edition: Signet
Date of issue: August 3rd 2004
ISBN: 0451213424
ISBN 13: 9780451213426
The author of the book: Bernard Cornwell
Language: English
Format files: PDF

Read full description of the books:

Rifleman risen from the ranks, Officer Richard Sharpe is the sort of ill-mannered, pissed off soldier to do any dirty work that needs doing. The Battle of Badajoz in 1812 Spain looks to be just the kind of dirty our hero was made for!

Most of the time, Sharpe is at odds with his commanding officers or anyone who ranks above him in anyway really, but this time he has a friend in Colonel Lawford. Of course, Lawford immediately dies. That's how Cornwell rolls. Get used to it. Nothing is made easy for Sharpe and having too many friends, especially influential ones, is too great an asset for a main character meant to be consistently shat upon.

And as if losing Lawford isn't enough, an old enemy returns to haunt Sharpe's every waking hour. This guy is the sort of evil you love to hate and is one of my favorite characters in the whole series.

AND AS IF THAT WASN'T ENOUGH, Sharpe must also defend his woman (I say "his woman" because this is just that kind of macho. But fear not, my femies, Teresa's one tough cookie). Cornwell really loves to pile it on, doesn't he? Sheesh!

Don't be deceived by my lackluster 3 star rating. I do love these books. Or perhaps I should say that I have a great fondness for them. I've read books in the series prior to this one, which I would rate 3 stars, yet I keep on reading these things. They're just flat out fun!

Read Ebooks by Bernard Cornwell

Read information about the author

Ebook Sharpe's Company read Online! Cornwell was born in London in 1944. His father was a Canadian airman, and his mother, who was English, a member of the Women's Auxiliary Air Force. He was adopted and brought up in Essex by the Wiggins family, who were members of the Peculiar People, a strict Protestant sect who banned frivolity of all kinds and even medicine. After he left them, he changed his name to his birth mother's maiden name, Cornwell.

Cornwell was sent away to Monkton Combe School, attended the University of London, and after graduating, worked as a teacher. He attempted to enlist in the British armed services at least three times but was rejected on the grounds of myopia.

He then joined BBC's Nationwide and was promoted to become head of current affairs at BBC Northern Ireland. He then joined Thames Television as editor of Thames News. He relocated to the United States in 1980 after marrying an American. Unable to get a green card, he started writing novels, as this did not require a work permit.

As a child, Cornwell loved the novels of C.S. Forester, chronicling the adventures of fictional British naval officer Horatio Hornblower during the Napoleonic Wars, and was surprised to find there were no such novels following Lord Wellington's campaign on land. Motivated by the need to support himself in the U.S. through writing, Cornwell decided to write such a series. He named his chief protagonist Richard Sharpe, a rifleman involved in most major battles of the Peninsular War.

Cornwell wanted to start the series with the Siege of Badajoz but decided instead to start with a couple of "warm-up" novels. These were Sharpe's Eagle and Sharpe's Gold, both published in 1981. Sharpe's Eagle was picked up by a publisher, and Cornwell got a three-book deal. He went on to tell the story of Badajoz in his third Sharpe novel, Sharpe's Company, published in 1982.

Cornwell and wife Judy co-wrote a series of novels, published under the pseudonym "Susannah Kells". These were A Crowning Mercy, published in 1983, Fallen Angels in 1984, and Coat of Arms (aka The Aristocrats) in 1986. (Cornwell's strict Protestant upbringing informed the background of A Crowning Mercy, which took place during the English Civil War.) In 1987, he also published Redcoat, an American Revolutionary War novel set in Philadelphia during its 1777 occupation by the British.

After publishing eight books in his ongoing Sharpe series, Cornwell was approached by a production company interested in adapting them for television. The producers asked him to write a prequel to give them a starting point to the series. They also requested that the story feature a large role for Spanish characters to secure co-funding from Spain. The result was Sharpe’s Rifles, published in 1987, and a series of Sharpe television films staring Sean Bean.

A series of contemporary thrillers with sailing as a background and common themes followed: Wildtrack published in 1988, Sea Lord (aka Killer's Wake) in 1989, Crackdown in 1990, Stormchild in 1991, and Scoundrel, a political thriller, in 1992.

In June 2006, Cornwell was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire in the Queen's 80th Birthday Honours List.

Cornwell's latest work, Azincourt, was released in the UK in October 2008. The protagonist is an archer who participates in the Battle of Agincourt, another devastating defeat suffered by the French in the Hundred Years War. However, Cornwell has stated that it will not be about Thomas of Hookton from The Grail Quest or any of his relatives.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment

Read EBOOK Sharpe's Company by Bernard Cornwell Online free

Download PDF: sharpes-company.pdf Sharpe's Company PDF